1.1 Technical recommendations on clinical renal MRI


This task force will develop technical recommendations on how to measure renal MRI biomarkers on clinical scanners of 1.5T and 3T field strengths. If you want to start a clinical study, you will find here concrete guidelines on how to implement the acquisition, and you can be reassured that the approach will be accepted by a broad body of experts in the field. 

We expect this to lead to a significant improvement in efficacy of research as it eliminates the need for local development and optimisation. It will also form a driver for a more standardised approach, improving comparability of results by different teams, and establishing a common benchmark to evaluate future developments.

The task force is led by Steven Sourbron (chair) and Pim Pullens (co-chair).


Consensus formation in this task force follows a predefined process that is written out in an open access publication (see here):

Iosif Mendichovszky, Pim Pullens, Ilona Dekkers, Fabio Nery, Octavia Bane, Andreas Pohlmann, Anneloes de Boer, Alexandra Ljimani, Aghogho Odudu, Charlotte Buchanan, Kanishka Sharma, Christoffer Laustsen, Anita Harteveld, Xavier Golay, Ivan Pedrosa, David Alsop, Sean Fain, Anna Caroli, Pottumarthi Prasad, Susan Francis, Eric Sigmund, Maria Fernández‐Seara, Steven Sourbron. Technical recommendations for clinical translation of renal MRI: a consensus project of the Cooperation in Science and Technology Action PARENCHIMA. Magn Reson Mater Phy (2019). https://doi.org/10.1007/s10334-019-00784-w


A first set of technical recommendations has been completed for renal ASL, DWI, T1 & T2 mapping, and BOLD. Papers are in review and will be referenced here after acceptance.


The technical recommendations are developed by expert panels that remain in existence after publication, at which point they will be responsible for reviewing requests for updating the recommendations. More detailed procedures for submitting update requests, and the review process, will be specified here soon. Membership of each panel is provided below.

ASL Panel

  • Chair: Maria Seara (Pamplona, Spain)
  • Co-chair: Fabio Nery (London, UK)
  • Anita Harteveld (Utrecht, The Netherlands)
  • Susan Francis (Nottingham, UK)
  • Xavier Golay (London, UK): 5 (major contribution in defining the approach to consensus formation)
  • Alexandra Ljimani (Dusseldorf, Germany)
  • Katja Derlin (Hannover, Germany)
  • Charlotte Buchanan (Nottingham, UK)
  • Eleanor Cox (Nottingham, UK)
  • David Alsop (Boston, US)
  • Ivan Pedrosa (Dallas, US)
  • Ananth Madhuranthakam (Dallas, US)
  • Danny JJ Wang (USC, Los Angeles)
  • Agogho Odudu (Manchester, UK)
  • Philip Robson (Mount Sinai, US)
  • Jeff Zhang (Utah, US)
  • Kanishka Sharma (Leeds, UK)
  • Michael Gach (Washington University, St. Louis, USA)
  • Manuel Taso (Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Boston, USA)
  • David Thomas (UCL, London, UK)
  • Marcel Gutberlet (Hannover Medical School, Germany)
  • Pim Pullens (Gent, Belgium)
  • Steven Sourbron (Leeds, UK)

BOLD Panel

  • Chair: Pottumarthi Prasad (Northshore, US)
  • Co-chair: Octavia Bane (Mount Sinai, US)
  • Menno Pruijm (Lausanne, Switzerland)
  • Lilach Lerman (Rochester, Minnesota, US)
  • Iosif Mendichovszky (Cambridge, UK)
  • Susan Francis (Nottingham, UK)
  • Stephen Textor (Rochester, US)
  • Bastien Milani (Lausanne, Switzerland)
  • Sean Fain (Wisconsin, US)
  • Chunlei Liu (Berkeley, US)
  • Kanishka Sharma (Leeds, UK)
  • Christoffer Laustsen (Aarhus, DK)
  • Thoralf Niendorf (Berlin, Ger)
  • Jeff Zhang (Utah, US)
  • Andreas Pohlmann (Berlin, Ger)
  • Pim Pullens (Gent, Belgium)
  • Steven Sourbron (Leeds, UK)

DWI Panel

  • Chair: Eric Sigmund (New York, USA)
  • Co-chair: Alexandra Ljimani (Dusseldorf, Germany)
  • Nicolas Grenier (Bordeaux, France)
  • Iosif Mendichovszky (Cambridge, UK)
  • Jean-Paul Vallee (Geneva, Switzerland)
  • Anna Caroli (Bergamo, Italy)
  • Harriet Thoeny (Fribourg, Switzerland)
  • Susan Francis (Nottingham, UK)
  • Katja Derlin (Hannover, Germany)
  • Marcos Wolf (Vienna, Austria)
  • Martijn Froeling (Utrecht, The Netherlands)
  • Kanishka Sharma (Leeds, UK)
  • Moritz Schneider (Munich, Germany)
  • Christoffer Laustsen (Aarhus, DK)
  • Thoralf Niendorf (Berlin, Ger)
  • Fabio Nery London, UK)
  • Pim Pullens (Gent, Belgium)
  • Steven Sourbron (Leeds, UK)

T1&T2 Panel

  • Chair: Susan Francis (Nottingham, UK)
  • Co-chair: Ilona Dekkers (Leiden, NL)
  • Marcos Wolf (Vienna, Austria)
  • David Buckley (Leeds, UK)
  • Jo Naish (Manchester, UK)
  • Charlotte Buchanan (Nottingham, UK)
  • Eleanor Cox (Nottingham, UK)
  • Anneloes de Boer (Utrecht, The Netherlands)
  • Kanishka Sharma (Leeds, UK)
  • Christoffer Laustsen (Aarhus, DK)
  • Matthew Robson (Oxford, UK)
  • Hildo Lamb (Leiden, NL)
  • Pim Pullens (Gent, Belgium)
  • Steven Sourbron (Leeds, UK)

Phase-contrast Panel

  • Chair: Anna Caroli (Bergamo, Italy)
  • Co-chair: Anneloes de Boer (Utrecht, the Netherlands)
  • Fabio Nery (London, UK)
  • Giulia Villa (Bergamo, Italy)
  • Steffen Ringgaard (Aarhus, Denmark)
  • Susan Francis (Nottingham, UK)
  • Frank Zoellner (Heidelberg, Germany)
  • Kanishka Sharma (Sheffield, UK)
  • Octavia Bane (New York, USA)
  • Michael Hall (Jackson, USA)
  • Suraj Serai (Philadelphia, USA)
  • Paul Hockings (Goteborg, Sweden)
  • Hildo Lamb (Leiden, the Netherlands)
  • Ilona Dekkers (Leiden, the Netherlands)
  • Maria Fernandez Seara (Pamplona, Spain)
  • Pauline Hall Barrientos (Glasgow, UK)
  • Bryan Haddock (Glostrup, Denmark)

Technical notes

Protocol collection (Pim Pullens)

Acquisition protocols will be collected centrally and harmonised to facilitate comparisons and generate a coherent structure and appearance between the outputs of the different panels. In order to facilitate this process we request the protocols are provided in the following way:

For all submissions: 

  • An ordered list of protocol authors for credit
  • A reference to the paper (or study) where the protocol is applied
  • Scanner type, software version and coil info

For Siemens:

  • PDF output of the protocol (mandatory)
  • If possible, edx/exar1 files
  • At least one DICOM file for each protocol step if possible

For Philips:

  • Text output of each sequence in the protocol (mandatory)
  • ExamCard if possible
  • At least one DICOM file for each protocol step if possible

For GE:

  • PDF file of the protocol (mandatory)
  • At least one DICOM file of each sequence in the protocol (mandatory)
  • Protocol Exchange files if possible
  • We really need DICOM and/or Protocol Exchange files, because the information in the PDF is very limited